Listen to your children

Can you imagine that when you only go to town once a week, you have to make sure you get everything you need while you’re there? If you forget something, you have to go seven days without it! That’s one factor to remember when you dream of moving to The Country.

Anyway, before I left for town last Thursday, I asked the kids, as I always do, “What do you need me to get for you?” My 4-year-old baby girl wanted slippers and my 8-year-old son wanted a bulb for his flashlight, which I remember seeing pieces of on the floor the last time I was in his room.

So when we got to Macro, I sent Mark to the electronics section (where I honestly thought he would never return from) to find “a bulb for a flashlight.” And I wandered over to the shoe department to look for “fuzzy little girl slippers.” Just before the “fuzzy little girl slipper section,” I couldn’t believe what I found in the middle of the aisle! Women’s dresses for R 99.95! Since I needed a pair for the conference this weekend, I bought two pairs! I was so thrilled and blessed with the Lord’s provision before I even asked!

Well, at the checkout, Mark came up with an armload of mini-flashlights.”Those don’t look like ‘a bulb’ to me,” I said, knowing the boys would probably be playing Swat in the yard that night. He just grinned and piled them onto the counter. With everyone happy and everything paid for we left.

When I got home and checked my email and I was just about to dial my mom to tell her all about my day and what a great deal I got from Prime Meridian enterprises on the landline when the power went out!! I mean, the whole neighbourhood’s power went out and I hadn’t punched in the first number! Disappointed I sat there with a dead phone in my hand and moaned in agony at the computer screen in the dark! The kids ran into the office to see if I had finally and completely lost my mind.

With nothing else to do I then went and sat with my husband and kids on the front porch in the dark for a while then my daughter and I went for a walk down the driveway. The boys played Swat with their new flashlights, of course, and enjoyed every moment of it.

Well, after about 30 minutes, I decided we ought to find out what happened. So after phoning Eskom and City power and establishing that it was not a general power fault we piled into the car and pulled out of the driveway. At the end of the road, I turned right to go toward the main road my son said that we should turn left.

“Na,” I said. Someone probably had an accident on the main road, let’s go this way. So we drove halfway back (all of 5 km) and turned around and headed back home.When we got back to our road, my son insisted that we go the other way (The way I hadn’t gone before.) To humor him we did.

Less than half a kilometer from our road, we almost ran right into a tree that had fallen across the road. The power line was thrown like discarded rope to one side. We immediately phoned Eskom and reported the problem giving them the exact location; we then also stopped at the neighbors’ to inform them of what happened, then we went home to a dark house. There wasn’t much else to do and we couldn’t see much, so we all went to bed.

As I lay there in the dark, the Lord reminded me of how He had provided for us four times that day through the quiet words of my little children.

  1. A dress the week I needed them and didn’t have time to go shopping
  2. Fuzzy little girl slippers the very week that winter decided to pop in
  3. Flashlights when the lights went out
  4. The cause of the power outage

The main thing the Lord said to me that night as I lay in the dark was, “Listen to your children, and don’t be so quick to tell them No. It made me think of the verse in Isaiah that says, “The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid; and the calf and the young lion and the fatling together; and a little child shall lead them.”

I think too often, we parents can’t hear our children’s voices  because of our own attitude, so we often fail to nurture the relationship of give and take that strengthens the bonds of the heart.

in Isaiah that says, “The wolf also shall dwell with the lamb, and the leopard shall lie down with the kid; and the calf and the young lion and the fatling together; and a little child shall lead them.”

Oh, and the power and all the lights, computers, and ceiling fans came back on about 01:30 am that night which is a miracle in a place that’s so far from the power company, they have to dig out a map to find their way here

